Privacy shortcuts in the Facebook app

The Facebook app bundles privacy settings so that it is easier and clearer to find the right settings.

Facebook has an app for the smartphone or tablet. The institutions that deal with privacy are bundled in this. In this article we review the settings so that you are sure that your privacy is guaranteed.

  • Open the Facebook App.
  • Tap the three horizontal bars in the menu.
  • Scroll down and tap the Settings and privacy option.
  • Tap Privacy shortcuts.

The page that follows consists of these sections: “Privacy,” “Account security,” “Advertising preferences,” “Your Facebook data,” “Security,” and “Legal and policy.” We will discuss “Privacy” and “Advertising Preferences” because those two contain the setting options that are related to what you reveal about yourself.

Privacy

This section bundles the Facebook settings that deal with your privacy in the broad sense of the word. Set here who can see what personal information about you, who can see your messages, but also whether Facebook can keep track of your location. It is a very extensive part so take your time.

We cover the following options:

  • Check a few important privacy settings;
  • Manage your location settings;
  • Manage face recognition;
  • View more privacy settings.

Check a few important privacy settings

  • Tap Check a few important privacy settings.
  • Tap Next.
  • On Facebook you can indicate per message who can see it. But users can also choose a default setting, so that it does not have to be set separately for each message. Indicate here which setting you want as standard: ‘Everyone’ (that is really everyone, with and without a Facebook account), ‘Friends’ (that is, of course, Facebook friends) or another category. The setting that is most obvious is ‘Friends’, which you set next to ‘Choose target group’.
  • Then tap Done if you have adjusted something.
  • Tap Next.
  • Who can see the personal data you have entered, such as e-mail address and date of birth and telephone number? Here too there is a choice of ‘Everyone’, ‘Friends’ or another category. It is also possible to choose ‘Only me’. You will of course only see the data that you have entered yourself at this location.
  • When everything is set, tap Next.
  • Perhaps there are apps linked to your Facebook profile. In that case you set per app who can see any messages. Again the choices are ‘Everyone’, ‘Friends’, ‘Only me’ or another category. If no apps are linked at all, this list is empty. Remove an app from the list? Tap the white bullet behind the app and then tap Delete > Delete > Done.
  • When everything is set, tap Next.
  • Tap Close.

Manage your location settings

Can Facebook know where you are? This is what the location settings are about.

  • Tap Manage your location settings.
  • If you have not given Facebook permission, the text ‘Never’ will appear at the top of the screen behind ‘Location’. You don’t have to do anything because Facebook does not keep track of where you are.
  • Is the text ‘Always’ or ‘When using app’ behind ‘Location’? Then tap Location > Location > Never.

Manage face recognition

Facebook can recognize you on photos that place yourself or others on your timeline. If you do not like that switch off this option.

  • Tap Manage Face Recognition .
  • Tap Do you want Facebook to recognize you in photos and videos?
  • Tap the desired option Yes or No .

View more privacy settings

  • Tap View more privacy settings .
  • Under “Your activities” under “Who can see your future messages?” state who can see all your messages. You have set this for this.
  • If necessary, tap Set restrictions for who can see your older messages . Do this if you have doubts about whether previous messages had the setting you want. Then tap Restrict Previous Messages > Restrict Previous Messages . All posts you’ve ever posted can now only be seen by your Facebook friends.
  • Tap Who can see the people, pages and lists that you follow?
  • Select the desired setting.
  • Then tap top left on the back arrow.
  • Five options have been bundled under ‘How people can find you and contact you’. Set them by clicking on them and setting the desired option:
  • “Who can send you friend requests?” 
    Leave this on ‘Everyone’. With each request that you receive, you decide whether or not to accept it.
    “Who can see your friends list?” 
    Set who is visible to who you are Facebook friends with. Some people don’t want this to be visible to others. In that case, choose Only me.
  • “Who can you search using the email address you provided?” 
    Suppose someone searches on Facebook by typing in your email address. Who do you want to be found by? Set the desired option.
  • “Who can you find using the telephone number you provided?” 
    The same applies to telephone number as to e-mail address.
  • “Do you want search engines to redirect you to your profile outside of Facebook?” 
    This option means whether you want to be found (with your Facebook profile) on, for example, Google. Don’t you want this? Then drag the slider behind “Allow search engines to redirect to Facebook from your profile” and tap Disable.

Ad Preferences

Facebook places advertisements, which is the revenue model of the social medium. That is why there is no escape from advertising. The only thing you can do is let Facebook know if your data can be used to offer customized advertisements. If you don’t want that, turn it off in the following way:

  • Under “Ad Preferences,” tap View your ad settings.
  • Tap Ads based on partner data.
  • Tap Continue.
  • Turn off the blue slider in the middle of the page.
  • Tap Save.
  • Tap Done.
  • Now tap Ads based on your activity on products from Facebook companies that you see outside of Facebook products.
  • Tap at the bottom of the page No.
  • Tap the left arrow on the top left.
  • Now swipe down and tap Ads that contain your social promotions.
  • At the bottom of the page, tap Nobody.
  • Tap the left arrow on the top left.

Tap the left arrow again at the top left to exit the Privacy shortcuts.